Skip to main content


Professor Kenneth F. Galloway, BA'62

Kenneth F. Galloway is a Distinguished Professor of Engineering at Vanderbilt University. An alumnus of Vanderbilt, he earned his doctorate from the University of South Carolina and has held professional appointments at Indiana University, NSWC-Crane, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (chief of the Semiconductor Electronics Division), the University of Maryland and the University of Arizona (head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department) before returning to Vanderbilt as dean of Engineering in 1996. He served as dean from 1996 until 2012.

Galloway’s personal research and teaching activities are in solid-state devices and semiconductor technology, radiation effects in electronics and engineering policy. He has published numerous technical papers, and much of his research activity has been supported by U.S. Department of Defense organizations.

He has served as general chairman of the IEEE Nuclear and Space Radiation Effects Conference and general chairman of the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting. He was vice president of the IEEE Electron Devices Society (2000–2005) and a member of the U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board (2003–2007). For his work, Galloway has been elected a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Physical Society. In 2002, he received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Radiation Effects Award, and in 2007 he received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Richard F. Shea Distinguished Member Award. In 2013, he received the Distinguished Service Award from the Tennessee Society of Professional Engineers.

Galloway served as chair of the American Society for Engineering Education Engineering Deans Council (2009–2011) and was elected as a fellow of the ASEE in 2011. He is a member of the ASEE board of directors, served as president of the American Society for Engineering Education in 2013–2014, and in 2014–2015, is serving as immediate past president.