Skip to main content

April, 2006

Mahadevan receives Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award

Apr. 7, 2006—Sankaran Mahadeven received Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award during the Spring Faculty Assembly held at Vanderbilt April 6. The award, created in 2000 upon former Chancellor Wyatt’s retirement, recognizes accomplishments that span multiple academic disciplines. Mahadevan, professor of civil and environmental engineering and professor of mechanical engineering, has director of the National Science...

Read more

Mechanical engineering major receives Fulbright Scholarship

Apr. 4, 2006—Michael Cannamela, a Vanderbilt senior mechanical engineering and German major, has been named a Fulbright Scholar for 2006-07. Cannamela will conduct research on thickness distribution optimization in incremental sheet forming at the Westfaelische Technische Hochschule in Aachen, Germany. He is one of 15 Vanderbilt finalists for the prestigious Fulbright Scholar program, and the number of...

Read more

Johnson receives Vanderbilt School of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award

Apr. 3, 2006—James A. Johnson, director of program management for Kellogg Brown & Root’s Government and Infrastructure Unit, has been selected to receive the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Vanderbilt University School of Engineering Johnson graduated from the School of Engineering in 1963 with a degree in civil engineering. After earning a master of science in civil...

Read more