Skip to main content

May, 2008

Two engineering students selected as 2008 Goldwater Scholars

May. 1, 2008—Sesha Pinnaduwage and Arunan Skandarajah have been selected Goldwater Scholars for the 2008-09 academic year. Each will receive a two-year scholarship worth $7,500 a year for educational expenses. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. Competition for the award is fierce: ...

Read more

Managing risk in an increasingly hazardous world

May. 1, 2008—  If you have a nagging feeling that life is getting increasingly hazardous, you may be interested in the new book, “Operational Risk Management,” by Mark D. Abkowitz, professor of civil and environmental engineering. The book contains 15 case studies of major disasters, including September 11, Hurricane Katrina and the losses of the Challenger and...

Read more

Fitzpatrick elected SPIE Fellow

May. 1, 2008—Professor J. Michael Fitzpatrick, EECS, is among this year’s 72 new Fellows of the Society honored by SPIE. Fellows are members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community,...

Read more