Skip to main content

‘Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering’

Professor Jamey Young appointed to Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair

Nov. 23, 2021—Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Jamey D. Young has been named Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering. Cornelius Vanderbilt Chairs are established by the university at all Vanderbilt schools to recognize faculty who are engaged in groundbreaking research. Young is the director of graduate studies in chemical engineering and director of the Interdisciplinary Training in...

Read more

Weiss to lead VINSE starting July 1

Jun. 27, 2019—Sharon Weiss (Vanderbilt University) Sharon Weiss, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering, professor of electrical engineering and physics and deputy director of the Vanderbilt Institute of Nanoscale Science and Engineering (VINSE), will become the new director of VINSE, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente announced today. Weiss’ appointment will begin on July...

Read more

Cynthia Reinhart-King to serve on National Academies inaugural New Voices panel

Jun. 8, 2018—Cynthia Reinhart-King, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering and professor of biomedical engineering, is one of 18 early-career leaders selected by the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine to serve on New Voices in Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, a pilot initiative to engage a diverse network of emerging leaders in SEM fields across the United States....

Read more

Four engineering faculty members receive endowed professorships

Nov. 28, 2011—Four engineering professors received newly endowed chairs in late 2011, bringing the total of named chairs in the School of Engineering to 12. The recipients are Benoit Dawant and David Kosson, both named a Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering. Anita Mahadevan-Jansen is the Orrin H. Ingram Professor of Biomedical Engineering. Sankaran Mahadevan is the John...

Read more