Vanderbilt awards exemplary Engineering faculty, staff

Dean Kenneth F. Galloway of the Vanderbilt School of Engineering presented three awards to faculty and staff members for their achievements in research, teaching and professional service during the 2007 academic year. The awards were given during a May 8 ceremony in Featheringill Hall at Vanderbilt.

The Edward J. White Engineering Faculty Award for Excellence in Service was presented to George E. Cook, associate dean for research and graduate studies and professor of electrical engineering, emeritus.

Galloway cited Cook’s numerous contributions during his 44 years of service to the School. “The award recognizes leadership in a variety of settings, whether on faculty committees and councils or with student and alumni groups,” Galloway said.

The School of Engineering Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to A.V. Anilkumar, research associate professor of mechanical engineering.

“Anil is an outstanding teacher, combining curricular innovations with a passionate and personable style that students resonate with,” Galloway said.

Phil VerMuelen, system administrator, received the School Award for Professionalism in Staff Service for exceptional service to the faculty and staff. “Phil has been with us for more than 21 years and, in addition to playing a major role in providing School IT, services, he’s been a mainstay of our TransIT laptop program,” Galloway said.

Also awarded during the School end-of-year ceremony was the “2006 Best Student Research Paper,” given to engineering graduate students Megan Casey and Yongming Lieu.