School of Engineering rewards exemplary faculty, staff service

The School of Engineering at Vanderbilt recognized faculty and staff members for their exemplary research, teaching, and professional service during the 2005 academic year. Dean Kenneth F. Galloway presented three annual awards during a ceremony May 10 at the Adams Atrium in Featheringill Hall.

The Edward J. White Engineering Faculty Award for Excellence in Service was presented to Kenneth A. Debelak, Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering.

“Thanks largely to Ken’s leadership, the TransIT program is at the national forefront of computer-assisted classroom education,” Galloway said. “He is also an excellent teacher and a superb chemical engineer.”

The School of Engineering Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Sanjiv Gokhale, Associate Professor of the Practice in Civil Engineering and Construction Management.

“Sanjiv is known for his unique teaching style that blends engineering theory with engaging, hands-on experiences,” Galloway said. “He is also known for supporting his students academically, intellectually, and personally and for inspiring his students in myriad ways.”

Lewis Saettel, facilities manager for the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, received the School Award for Professionalism in Staff Service for exceptional service to the faculty and staff. “Anyone working in Featheringill can tell you that Lewis is efficient, reliable, and he approaches everyone and every problem – even the dean – with relentless good cheer,” Galloway said. “He was especially valuable in last year’s government all-campus space audit, which has helped the School document its appropriate stewardship of federal funds.”

Also awarded during the School end-of-year ceremony was the “2004 Best Student Research Paper,” given to graduate student Eric Brantley. Brantley wrote “Fluorinated Polymer Films from Acylation of ATRP Surface-Initiated Poly(hydroxyethyl methacrylate)” with his adviser, Kane Jennings, Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering. The paper was published in Macromolecules in December 2004.