School bestows honors on 2010 graduating seniors

Awards and honors were presented by Dean Kenneth F. Galloway May 13 to 31 seniors at the School of Engineering’s annual Commencement Reception.

Andrew Philip Jallouk, Oak Ridge, Tenn., is this year’s Founder’s Medalist and is graduating with a bachelor of engineering in biomedical engineering with a second major in chemistry. The Founder’s Medal signifies first honors and was endowed by Commodore Cornelius Vanderbilt as one of his gifts to the university. The recipient is named by the Dean after consideration of faculty recommendations as well as grade point averages of the summa cum laude graduates.

Jallouk has received several academic honors, including a Paul Harrawood Honors Undergraduate Scholarship and a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. He was inducted into the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society and named to the Dean’s List each sememster. This fall, Andrew will begin studies for a combined M.D./Ph.D. with a specific research focus on biomaterials.

Thomas Edward Davis II, Prospect, Ky., is this year’s Banner Bearer. Davis is graduating with a bachelor of engineering in biomedical engineering. The honor of Banner Bearer is awarded to a senior who has been judged by the faculty to have excelled in all aspects of the undergraduate career and is considered an outstanding example of a well-rounded engineering student.

Dean Galloway recognized 18 students who achieved summa cum laude distinction:  Raffi Bedikian, Thomas Edward Davis II, Remington Eric Fischer, Paul David Guillod, Nur Aminah Hamzah, David Christopher Harris, Abdul Hadi Hussin, Andrew Philip Jallouk, Robert Campbell McColl, Joshua Grady Mullins, Samuel Max Nackman, Catherine Booe Newman, Nik M Khairi Nik Hassan Suhaimi, Samuel Richard Nolen, Paul Andrew Payne, Jr., Lauren Maria Ramsey, Jennie Elizabeth Wolfgang, and Robert Marne Zahner.

Also recognized at the reception were Erica Traci Mills, Samuel Richard Nolen and Catherine Booe Newman.

Mills, Addison, Texas, is the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Service, which is given to the senior who has shown remarkable leadership qualities and has also made the greatest contributions in personal service to the School. Mills is graduating with a bachelor of science in engineering science.

Nolen, Kingsport, Tenn., is the recipient of the Wilson and Nellie Pyle Miser Award, which is given to the senior who has excelled in all aspects of mathematics during the student’s undergraduate career. Nolen, recognized for Honors in Computer Sciences and High Honors in Mathematics, is graduating with a bachelor of science in computer science and mathematics.

Newman, Greensboro, N.C., is the recipient of the Stein Stone Memorial Award, which is given to a senior who has earned a letter in sports and who is judged to have made the most satisfactory scholastic and extra-mural progress as an undergraduate.  Newman is a highly-ranked player on the Vanderbilt women’s tennis team and recently received the Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship in the Ohio Valley region by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. She is graduating with a bachelor of engineering in civil engineering.

At Commencement May 14, 222 seniors received bachelor of engineering degrees; 64 engineering seniors received bachelor of science degrees; 19 received master of engineering degrees; 50 received master of science degrees; and 43 received doctor of philosophy degrees.

Other awards and honors

Program awards go to seniors who, in the opinion of the program faculty, made the greatest progress in professional development during the undergraduate careers. The recipients are:

Biomedical Engineering:  Paul David Guillod
Chemical Engineering:  Remington Eric Fischer
Civil Engineering:  Robert Marne Zahner
Computer Engineering:  Robert Campbell McColl
Computer Science:  James Douglas Kasten, Jr.
Electrical Engineering:  Nur Aminah Hamzah
Engineering Science:  Stephen Edward Arndt
Mechanical Engineering:  Samuel Max Nackman

The Greg A. Andrews Civil Engineering Memorial Award goes to an exemplary senior who plans to do graduate work in environmental and water resources engineering. The recipient is Amelia Rae Shaw, Smyrna, Tenn.

The Thomas G. Arnold Prizes for Biomedical Engineering Systems Design and Research is shared by Rachel Elizabeth Riti (research), Sarasota, Fla., and for design: Tiffany Cheng, North Potomac, Md.; Thomas Davis, Prospect, Ky.; Dawn Elizabeth Schmidt, Lakewood, Colo.; Kyle Schroeder, Niceville, Fla.; and Andrew Wu, Germantown, Tenn.

The Walter Criley Prize is awarded for the best paper written on an advanced senior project in electrical engineering. The award is shared by Adam Michael Albright, Round Rock, Texas; Robert McColl, Birmingham, Ala.; and Hamilton Turner, Nashville, Tenn.

The Arthur J. Dyer Jr. Memorial Prize is awarded to a senior who has done the best work in the study and/or design in use of structural steel, and who is a member of the American Society for Civil Engineers. The recipient is Catherine Booe Newman, Greensboro, N.C.

The Robert D. Tanner Undergraduate Research Award is give n to a senior who has conducted the best undergraduate research project in chemical engineering. The recipient is Paul Andrew Payne Jr., Louisville, Ky.

The W. Dennis Threadgill Award is given for outstanding achievement in chemical engineering in honor of a former faculty member and department chair. The award is shared by Andrew Grant Lossing, Granville, Ohio, and Joseph Mikhail, Nashville, Tenn.  Both Lossing and Mikhail also are recipients of the American Institute of Chemists Award, given on the basis of leadership, ability, character, scholastic achievement and potential for advancement in the chemical professions.

The Walter Gill Kirkpatrick Prize in Civil Engineering is given to the most deserving third-year student majoring in civil engineering. The recipient is James Isidore Kaplan, Atlanta, Ga.

The ASCE/Dan Barge Award in Civil Engineering is given to the junior civil engineering student who exhibits outstanding academic performance and dedication to professional or community service. The recipient is Dylan Sullivan Bunch, Signal Mountain, Tenn.