Students place in poster competition at 11th annual Nano Day forum

The 11th Annual Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Forum was held Wednesday, Oct. 27, in Jacobs Believed in Me Auditorium in Featheringill Hall. Three engineering students placed among the top three spots in poster competition.

Sponsored by the Vanderbilt Institute of Nanoscale Science and Engineering (VINSE), the event is an annual forum for faculty, postdoctoral students and graduate students engaged in nanoscience and nanotechnology research at Vanderbilt and Fisk universities.

Engineering professors who presented at the forum include Peter Pintauro and Peter Cummings, chemical and biomolecular engineering; Craig Duval, Melissa Skala and Hak-Joon Sung, biomedical engineering; and Jason Valentine, mechanical engineering.

Dinner keynote speakers were Sergei Kalinin and Michael L. Simpson, both from Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Kalinin is a senior research staff member at Oak Ridge National Laboratory and co-theme leader for Scanning Probe Microscopy at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences at ORNL. He is an adjunct associate professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and  at North Carolina State University. His research is focused on the studies of the interplay between ferroelectricity, transport, and surface chemistry in ferroelectric perovskites, energy storage materials, and molecular systems using Scanning Probe Microscopy.

Simpson is a distinguished R&D staff member and the group leader of the Nanofabrication Research Laboratory in the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences. In addition, he is a professor of material science and engineering at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. He made key contributions to the introduction of custom integrated circuits to medium and high energy physics instrumentation before moving his research to the interfaces of engineering, physical sciences, and biology.  In this arena Simpson made important contributions to the use of nanotechnology to enable the transfer of information across the biological-synthetic device boundary and the development of a fundamental understanding of noise biology.

Below, top posters submitted to the 11th Annual Nanoscience/Nanotechnology forum.

First Place
John Rigueur
Interdisciplinary Materials Science
“Electrophoretically deposited carbon nanotube films”
Adviser: James Dickerson

Second Place
Albert Dukes
“Single-nanocrystal spectroscopy of white-light emitting CdSe nanocrystals”
Adviser: Sandra Rosenthal

William French
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
“A computational study of the dynamic formation of Au-BDT-Au nanoelectronic junctions”
Adviser: Peter Cummings

Third Place
Nicholas Adams
“Low resource extraction and processing of biological samples using surface tension valves”
Adviser: David Wright

Charleson Bell
Biomedical Engineering
“The multistrata nanoparticle”
Adviser: Todd Giorgio

Juekuan Yang & Yang Yang
Mechanical Engineering
“Diameter dependence of contact thermal resistance between individual carbon nanotubes”
Adviser: Deyu Li

First-Year Student Presentation on Research Rotation
Sarah-Ann Claiborne
Interdisciplinary Materials Science
“Fowler-nordheim analysis of nanotip emitters with geometric scaling”
Adviser: Greg Walker