Zhang awarded Oronzio de Nora Industrial Electrochemistry Fellowship

Angela Zhang, a post-doctoral research associate in Professor Peter Pintauro’s laboratory, is the 2010 recipient of the prestigious Oronzio de Nora Industrial Electrochemistry Fellowship of Electrochemical Society.

ZhangHer research is focused on the design, preparation, and evaluation of new protonexchange membranes and membrane-electrode-assemblies for hydrogen/air and direct methanol fuel cells.

She is currently working on three projects: stretched low equivalent weight PFSA membranes for improved fuel cell performance, nanofiber composite protonexchange membranes from acid-base polymer pairs, and the use of nanofiber electrospinning techniques to construct highperformance fuel cell electrodes.

Zhang received a bachelor’s degree in polymer science and engineering from South China University of Technology. She was awared the Jebsen Scholarship to attend graduate school at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). At HKUST, she received a master’s degree in the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 2005 and a Ph.D. in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in 2009.

The de Nora Fellowship was established in 2003 and is given to a postdoctoral scientist or engineer for research in the field of industrial electrochemistry.

The award, funded by the Oronzio de Nora Foundation, is in the amount of $30,000 for one year, which can be renewed twice based on successful research progress.

Read more here.