Two engineering professors honored by AAAS scientific society

John Gore and John Wikswo are among seven Vanderbilt University faculty members elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honor bestowed upon them by their AAAS peers.

They are among 503 AAAS members from around the country who achieved this honor because of their distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

John GoreGore, Hertha Ramsey Cress University Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences, Biomedical Engineering and Physics, was cited for his contributions to the development and application of imaging methods for biomedical science and as director of the Vanderbilt University Institute of Imaging Science. Gore’s research focuses especially on magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and spectroscopy techniques in clinical and basic science. He and his colleagues are working to devise non-invasive imaging methods that provide new types of information and to develop methods for studying human brain structure and function.

John WikswoWikswo, Gordon A. Cain University Professor, A.B. Learned Professor of Living State Physics, director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Integrative Biosystems Research and Education and professor of Biomedical Engineering, Molecular Physiology & Biophysics and Physics, was honored for his contributions at the interface of physics, biology, bioengineering and medicine.

Specializing in development of novel instruments and mathematical models to study the electrodynamics of animal hearts and cell metabolism and signaling at the micro and nanoscale, he and his colleagues were the first to measure the magnetic field of an isolated nerve axon and a single muscle fiber. Currently he is directing a major research program to develop the capability to instrument and control single cells and small networks of cells so they can be used as biocomputers, systems controllers and advanced biosensors.

The other honorees are Stephen Fesik, Orin H. Ingram II Chair in Cancer Research and professor of Biochemistry, Chemistry, and Pharmacology; Alfred George Jr., Grant W. Liddle Professor of Medicine and professor of pharmacology;  Jeffrey Johnston, professor of chemistry; Michael Stone, professor and chair of chemistry and professor of biochemistry; and Susan Wente, associate vice chancellor for research, senior associate dean for biomedical sciences and professor of cell and developmental biology

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world’s largest federation of scientists and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies, serving 10 million individuals. The association works to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs and publications. It conducts many programs in the areas of science policy, science education and international scientific cooperation.

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 19, at the 2011 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

For more information on AAAS Fellows, see