Engineering Dean Kenneth F. Galloway is named ASEE Fellow

Kenneth F. Galloway, dean of the School of Engineering at Vanderbilt University, has been selected as a member of the Academy of Fellows of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).  Galloway’s fellow status will be conferred at the 2011 ASEE Annual Conference and Exposition banquet in Vancouver, British Columbia, June 29.

Fellow status is a distinction conferred upon those who have been members for at least 10 years and have made valuable contributions to engineering education.

Dean Galloway
Dean Galloway

Galloway, an alumnus of Vanderbilt University,  earned his doctorate from the University of South Carolina and went on to hold professional appointments at Indiana University, NAVSEA-Crane, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the University of Maryland, and the University of Arizona before returning to Vanderbilt as Dean in 1996.

Galloway’s research and teaching activities are in solid-state devices, semiconductor technology, and radiation effects in electronics.  He has published numerous technical papers in these areas and has conducted research sponsored by several U.S. Department of Defense organizations.

He has served as General Chairman of the IEEE Nuclear and Space Radiation Effects Conference (NSREC) and General Chairman of the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM).  He was a Vice President of the IEEE Electron Devices Society (2000-2005) and a member of the U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board (2003-2007). For his work, Dr. Galloway has been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the American Physical Society (APS).  In 2002, he received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Radiation Effects Award, and in 2007, he received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Richard F. Shea Distinguished Member Award.

American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE) activities have included service as Chair of the Engineering Deans Council (EDC) Public Policy Committee (2005-2007) and service as a member of the Engineering Deans Council Executive Board (2006-2011). Dr. Galloway is currently Chair of the ASEE Engineering Deans Council (2009-2011) and a member of the ASEE Board of Directors (2009-2011).