International experts to attend Vanderbilt engineering conference on advances in cement-based materials

The School of Engineering and the civil and environmental engineering department are hosts of the second annual conference of American Ceramic Society’s Cements Division and Center for Advanced Cement-Based Materials July 24-26 at Vanderbilt University.

Sponsors of the conference – Advances in Cement-Based Materials:  Characterization, Processing, Modeling and Sensing – include Vanderbilt’s Consortium for Risk Evaluation with Stakeholder Participation (CRESP), the Center for Advanced Cement-Based Materials (ACBM), and Elsevier, a global publisher of technical journals and books.

About 120 national and international experts in the materials science of cement from academia, industry,  government agencies and national laboratories will present oral and poster presentations on cement chemistry and nanostructure, advances in multiscale material characterization, alternative materials and material modification, advances in computational material science and chemo/mechanical modeling of cement-based materials, as well as smart materials and sensors.

Elsevier is sponsor of the Della Roy Lecture, which will be delivered by Professor Karen Scrivener, head of the Laboratory of Construction Materials at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne and founder of the European Nanocem Consortium. Her lecture title is “Modeling Hydration Kinetics of Cementitious Systems.”

This year’s tutorial is geochemical speciation modeling and transport processes applied to cement-based materials and will feature Barbara Lothenbach from EMPA, the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology.

Florence Sanchez

Florence Sanchez, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, is chair of the Cements 2011 program committee. Other Vanderbilt civil engineering faculty participants are professors Sankaran Mahadevan, David Kosson and Andy Garrabrants; and graduate students J.R. Arnold, Catherine Gay, Lesa Brown and post doctoral fellow Sohini Sarkar.

In addition to Vanderbilt, other universities represented include MIT, Purdue, Rice, Drexel, Georgia Tech, CalTech, Northwestern, University of Michigan, University of Illinois, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, University of Texas, Texas A&M, Oregon State, Kansas State, Oklahoma State, Penn State, University of Akron, Tennessee Tech, University of Melbourne, Vienna University of Technology, University of Indonesia; and three Chinese institutions: Dalian University of Technology,  Harbin Institute of Technology, Sinoma Research Institute.

Industry and agency participants include National Institute of Standards and Technology, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Savannah River National Laboratory, Schlumberger-Doll Research, Nanodynamics, U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center, Nuclear Research and consultancy Group, The Netherlands; SIMCO Technologies Inc., Canada; and Lafarge Centre de Recherche, France.