Rosenthal named a fellow of the AAAS

Sandra J. Rosenthal

Sandra J. Rosenthal, director of the Vanderbilt Institute of Nanoscale Science and Engineering and professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, is one of 14 members of Vanderbilt University’s faculty to be elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) this year. This is the largest number of Vanderbilt fellows to be elected in a single year on record.

Rosenthal, also the Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Chemistry and professor of physics and of pharmacology, was elected a fellow for her distinguished contributions to the field of nanochemistry, particularly for synthesis and characterization of nanocrystals and the utilization of nanocrystals as biomarkers of protein expression.

The Vanderbilt members are among 539 fellows from around the country selected by their peers because of their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” The new fellows will be recognized on Feb. 18 at the 2012 AAAS annual meeting in Vancouver, Canada.

“Vanderbilt continues to make significant contributions to science through the efforts of faculty such as these distinguished AAAS fellows,” said Vanderbilt Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos. “Their work handsomely deserves this recognition, but more importantly holds the promise of improving our society.”

Vanderbilt University has 53 AAAS fellows among its current faculty. Twenty-eight of them have been elected in the last three years.

The other new fellows are:

  • Darryl Bornhop, professor of chemistry
  • Nancy J. Brown, Hugh J. Morgan Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, and chair of the Department of Medicine
  • Bruce Carter, professor of biochemistry
  • Ellen Wright Clayton, Craig-Weaver Chair in Pediatrics and professor of law
  • Michael DeBaun, professor and vice chair for clinical research in the Department of Pediatrics, and J.C. Peterson, M.D., Chair in Pediatric Pulmonology
  • Mark Denison, Craig-Weaver Chair in Pediatrics; professor of pathology, microbiology and immunology
  • Kathleen Gould, Louise B. McGavock Chair, professor of cell and developmental biology and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator
  • Heidi Hamm, Earl W. Sutherland Jr. Professor in Pharmacology and chair of the department
  • George C. Hill, Levi Watkins Jr. M.D. Professor, professor of pathology, microbiology and immunology, and assistant vice chancellor for Multicultural Affairs
  • Tadashi Inagami, Stanford Moore Chair in Biochemistry and professor of medicine
  • Prasad Polavarapu, professor of chemistry
  • Michelle Sulikowski, senior lecturer in chemistry
  • Scott Williams, professor of molecular physiology and biophysics