Sztipanovits, Laibinis receive awards at Spring Faculty Assembly

Two engineering faculty members were recognized for their achievements in and out of the classroom by Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos at the Spring Faculty Assembly March 29, 2012.

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos, Janos Sztipanovits and David Weintraub at Faculty Spring Assembly in Langford Auditorium (Anne Rayner/Vanderbilt)

Janos Sztipanovits, E. Bronson Ingram Distinguished Professor of Engineering, won the Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished Professor Award for accomplishments that span multiple academic disciplines.

Sztipanovits, a respected leader in cross-disciplinary research involving classical and engineering computation, is a leader in efforts to provide security and privacy to health care records.

“His contributions to the national and international research community are determining the direction of our nation’s and world’s research efforts,” Zeppos said of Sztipanovits.

The Ellen Gregg Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching was presented to Paul Laibinis, professor of chemical engineering. Nominees for this prize excel in fairness of criteria for awarding grades, classroom engagement and willingness to meet students outside of the classroom.

Award winners each get a $2,500 prize and either an engraved pewter cup or silver tray.