Engineering alumnus elected to Vanderbilt’s Board of Trust

Technology entrepreneur Jeffrey J. Rothschild has been elected to a five-year term as one of the newest members of the Vanderbilt University Board of Trust. His term begins July 1.


Rothschild, of Los Altos, California, is vice president of infrastructure engineering at Facebook. He is also a consulting partner with Accel Partners, an international venture capital firm that makes investments in technology companies, primarily in the areas of software and networking.

Rothschild earned his bachelor’s degree from Vanderbilt’s College of Arts and Science and master’s degree in computer science from the School of Engineering, where he was a member of the first graduate-level computer science class.

He is serving on Vanderbilt’s Technology Transfer Advisory Committee and has participated in Bay Area Vanderbilt alumni activities.

The board also elected Adolpho A. Birch III, Shirley M. Collado, Daniel M. Crown, Jay C. Hoag and John R. Ingram to five-year terms. Sid Sapru, the 2014 Young Alumni Trustee, and Carroll
Kimball, the new Alumni Trustee, will serve four-year terms. In addition, the board approved Michael L. Ainslie, Camilla D. Bergeron and Dennis C. Bottorff as emeriti trustees.