Troxel wins Sarratt Prize for excellence in undergraduate teaching

Lori Troxel, associate professor of the practice of civil and environmental engineering, received the Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching from Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos at the Spring Faculty Assembly.

Troxel and five others were recognized during the March 31 faculty assembly in Langford Auditorium. Also honored were Lorraine Lopez, Velma McBride Murry, Linda Sealy, Mitchell Seligson and Laura Stark.

The Madison Sarratt prize recognizes outstanding efforts in classroom presentation, concern for student learning, and clarity and fairness in the criteria used for awarding grades.

Lori Troxel (center) with Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos (left) and chair of the Faculty Senate Richard Willis after Troxel won the Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. (John Russell/Vanderbilt)

“Lori … is widely celebrated for employing innovation in her teaching,” Zeppos said. “This year she launched a freshman engineering course that engaged students in building a miniature hydroelectric power plant, allowing them to experience firsthand how rushing water generates electricity.”

Troxel teaches structural engineering and sustainable infrastructure. Her design experience includes designing foundations for electrical power equipment, inspecting supports in nuclear reactors, and designing prestressed bridges.

She is the faculty adviser to the Vanderbilt student chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers. She and the chapter have received national recognition several times for their outstanding chapter. In 2013, Troxel received the School of Engineering Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Troxel leads an interdisciplinary study abroad course on sustainable building and infrastructure and has helped Vanderbilt engineering students study abroad in Northern Ireland and Spain.

Nominations for the Sarratt and for the Ingalls teaching awards are made online by undergraduates of all schools and colleges, with final selection made by the chancellor. All of the award winners received $2,500. The winners of the Sarratt and Ingalls awards received an engraved pewter cup.

Brenda Ellis, (615) 343-6314
Twitter @VUEngineering