Three engineering faculty awarded Seeding Success Grants in inaugural funding round

The Office of the Provost has announced the inaugural round of grant recipients for the Seeding Success Grant program established in March. Three engineering faculty members are among 15 faculty members across four Vanderbilt schools and colleges who will receive support for their work. They are:

  • David Braun, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; “Catapult Legs: Enhancing Human Physical Ability with Robotic Limbs”
  • Duco Jansen, professor of biomedical engineering; “A Novel Imaging-based Approach for Real-time Dosimetry Monitoring During Photodynamic Therapy of Staphylococcus Aureus”
  • Shihong Lin, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering; “Single-layer and Conductive Graphene Membrane for Electro-regulated Selective Solute Separation”

The Seeding Success Grant is a reinvigoration and expansion of previous programs (replacing the Discovery Grant and Research Scholar Grant programs) and is designed to support faculty research, scholarship and creative endeavors. The grant offers two unique funding tracks:

  • The program serves as a seed opportunity to support work with strong capacity for productivity as well as work with external sponsorship potential from a variety of sources, including federal agencies and corporate or nonprofit foundations.
  • The program also facilitates productivity and scholarship by supporting course buyouts, therefore providing faculty with more time to work on creative projects, manuscripts, papers or strategic grant proposals.

“We received many outstanding applications for seed funding and course buyouts, and we are excited to have an opportunity to support these fantastic proposals,” said Tracey George, vice provost for faculty affairs. “The strong response to the first offering of the new program is a testament to the value of internal funding opportunities and the quality of research, scholarship and creative endeavors among our faculty.”

“The selected faculty are poised to do exactly what this new program promises: seed success by cultivating new projects to drive impact,” added Padma Raghavan, vice provost for research. “In addition to congratulating these awardees, I want to thank the review committee for their in-depth assessments and their willingness to provide detailed feedback to all who applied.”

For more information about the program, including eligibility standards, proposal requirements and funding guidelines, visit the program website. Questions about the program may be emailed to Annie Hornung. The next funding round will open this fall.

Contact: Brenda Ellis, 615 343-6314