Engineering professor De-en Jiang is among world’s highly cited researchers

De-en Jiang, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, and of chemistry, is on this year’s list of scientists whose papers have been cited the most frequently by other researchers.

De-en Jiang

He is among 6,849 “highly cited researchers” around the world whose publications rank in the top 1% by citations for field of research and publication year in the Web of Science citation index over the past decade, according to the global analytics firm Clarivate, which compiled and released the 2023 list on Nov. 15.

Of the 12 Vanderbilt University Medical Center and Vanderbilt University researchers on the list, Jiang is the only one from the university. A Clarivate official said that in calculating their list, all authors of highly cited papers are given equal credit.

“Collaboration has been key to my success in research, so I’m very grateful to my many collaborators for sharing their exciting results with me and their trust,” said Jiang, whose long-term goal is to “achieve data-driven design of functional materials and molecules for a sustainable society.”

Jiang joined the School of Engineering faculty in fall 2022. His research focuses on applying state-of-the-art computational methods to important chemical systems and energy-relevant problems. He has authored and co-authored more than 370 peer-reviewed publications in such journals as ScienceNature Materials, Nature Energy, Advanced Materials, Nature Communications, Chemical Reviews, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Nano Letters, ACS Nano, Accounts of Chemical Research, and Angewandte Chemie, a journal of the German Chemical Society, that together have been cited 29,880 times, according to Google Scholar.

Among his awards and honors are a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), U.S. Department of Energy Early Career Award and an early career award from the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Jiang is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and a Kavli Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences.