Adams, Chang honored for teaching, mentoring at Spring Assembly

Douglas Adams and Catie Chang are among 10 Vanderbilt faculty members who received 2024 Spring Faculty Awards at the Spring Faculty Assembly April 11. Recipients were recognized for their significant impact through scholarship, research, creative expression, service, teaching or mentoring.

Adams received the Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award. The award recognizes faculty accomplishments that further the aims of the university through creative research, teaching and service and honors Vanderbilt’s fourth chancellor.  Chang received the Excellence in Immersion Mentoring Award, established in 2023 to recognize outstanding faculty contributions in the form of relational leadership and development.

Andrea Capizzi, associate professor of the practice and director of undergraduate studies in the Department of Special Education at Peabody College, welcomed faculty to the assembly and gave a brief update on the work of the Faculty Senate this year. Then, Diermeier spoke about the challenges facing higher education in general and Vanderbilt specifically.

Read More