Ten Vanderbilt engineering students awarded prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Seven engineering graduate students and three undergraduates in the Vanderbilt School of Engineering are 2024 recipients of the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program supports students who are pursuing full-time, research-based graduate degrees in science, technology, engineering or math. Recipients receive financial support for their education and an annual stipend to support their research and career endeavors.

“These fellowships are extremely competitive, so being selected as an NSF Graduate Fellow is a tremendous recognition of our outstanding students and our faculty mentors. In addition to these students who are already at Vanderbilt, the graduate student cohort that is matriculating this fall will include several additional NSF recipients,” said E. Duco Jansen, senior associate dean for Graduate Education. The School of Engineering currently has over 45 NSF GRF awardees.

The seven current engineering graduate student winners are:

  • Emily Berestesky, Biomedical Engineering
  • Austin Coursey, Computer Science
  • Skyler Hornback, Chemical Engineering
  • William Richardson, Computer Science
  • Soren Smail, Interdisciplinary Materials Science
  • Jacob Schulman, Biomedical Engineering
  • Harrison Walker, Interdisciplinary Materials Science

The three engineering undergraduate winners are:

  • Abigail Eisenklam, Computer Science/Mathematics
  • Alexander Oh, Electrical Engineering/Computer Science
  • Schyler Rowland, Biomedical Engineering

Each of those fellowships provides three years of financial support inclusive of an annual stipend of $37,000 along with a $16,000 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees, as well as access to opportunities for professional development available to NSF-supported graduates students. It is one of the most prestigious awards for graduate students, with about 16% of applicants awarded each year.

Begun in 1952, this fellowship program is the oldest and most prestigious of its kind; 42 recipients have gone on to become Nobel laureates, and more than 450 have become members of the National Academy of Sciences.

Contact: brenda.ellis@vanderbilt.edu