Skip to main content

Kenneth Galloway

Research Professor of Electrical Engineering
Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Emeritus
Dean of Engineering, Emeritus

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Intellectual Neighborhoods

Research Focus

Solid state devices, microelectronics, reliability, radiation effects


Kenneth F. Galloway is a Distinguished Professor of Engineering at Vanderbilt University. An alumnus of Vanderbilt, he earned his doctorate from the University of South Carolina and went on to hold professional appointments at Indiana University, NAVSEA-Crane, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the University of Maryland, and the University of Arizona before returning to Vanderbilt as Dean in 1996. He served as Dean of Engineering from 1996 until 2012.

Dr. Galloway’s research and teaching activities are in solid-state devices, semiconductor technology, and radiation effects in electronics. He has published numerous technical papers in these areas and has conducted research sponsored by several U.S. Department of Defense organizations.

He has served as General Chairman of the IEEE Nuclear and Space Radiation Effects Conference (NSREC) and General Chairman of the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM). He was a Vice President of the IEEE Electron Devices Society (2000-2005) and a member of the U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board (2003-2007). For his work, Dr. Galloway has been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the American Physical Society (APS). In 2002, he received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Radiation Effects Award, and in 2007, he received the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Richard F. Shea Distinguished Member Award. He received the Distinguished Service Award from the Tennessee Society of Professional Engineers in 2013.

American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) activities include service as Chair of the Engineering Deans Council Public Policy Committee (2005-2007), as a member of the Engineering Deans Council Executive Board (2003-2005, 2008-2011), as Chair of the ASEE Engineering Deans Council (2009-2011), and as a member of the ASEE Board of Directors (2009-2011, 2012-2015). He was elected as a Fellow of the ASEE in 2011 and, in 2013-2014, served as President of the ASEE.