Skip to main content

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Lippmann, Wilson, and Young awarded one of NSF's 24 new projects to drive future manufacturing


One of the challenges of drug delivery systems is to optimize their targeting properties so therapeutic compounds used in smaller amounts reach only a specific area of the body and result in little or no side effects... Read More

Wilson awarded Komen breast cancer research grant

An engineering professor has received financial support from Susan G. Komen for breast cancer research... Read More

Cummings to present plenary lecture at global thermodynamics conference

Peter T. Cummings will present the Molecular Physics Lecture, one of five plenary lectures, at the global Thermodynamics 2019 conference on the coast of Huelva at Punta Umbría, Spain, June 26-28..... Read More

ChemE major earns prestigious DOD scholarship

Rachel Strons, a rising junior majoring in chemical engineering, has received a SMART Scholarship, a prestigious program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Defense. (Vanderbilt University)..... Read More

Dean presents 2018-2019 faculty, staff and student research awards

Dean Philippe Fauchet announced May 7 the promotions of two engineering faculty members at the final faculty meeting of the 2017-2018 academic year and presented four awards at a reception following the meeting..... Read More

Alumnus Corey Thomas and Senior Somto Dimobi elected to Board of Trust

The Vanderbilt Board of Trust has elected two members who are alumni, or soon will be, of the School of Engineering..... Read More

Lippmann awarded NSF CAREER grant to study mechanics of blood-brain barrier

Ethan Lippmann, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, has received a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development grant..... Read More

Nanoparticle targets tumor-infiltrating immune cells, flips switch telling them to fight

Immunotherapy’s promise in the fight against cancer drew international attention after two scientists won a Nobel Prize this year for unleashing the ability of the immune system to eliminate tumor cells.... Read More

Research team documents potential new treatment path for breast cancer

Immunotherapies that take off the “brakes” on the adaptive anti-tumor response have worked well in melanoma and lung cancer but less so in breast cancers. That could change.... Read More

Vanderbilt engineering professor wins inaugural $2.5M Chan Zuckerberg Initiative grant for neurodegenerative disorders research

Ethan Lippmann, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at Vanderbilt University, has won an inaugural Chan Zuckerberg Initiative grant for neurodegenerative disorders research. The five-year, $2.5 million award supports his goal of better understanding how blood-brain barrier dysfunction impacts neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s... Read More