Skip to main content

March, 2009

Two BME students selected as Goldwater Scholars for 2008-2009 academic year

Mar. 31, 2009—Two students recommended by the faculty and staff of Vanderbilt University have been selected as 2008 Goldwater Scholars. Each will receive a two-year scholarship worth $7,500 a year for educational expenses. Each year, Vanderbilt and other four-year universities are given the opportunity to nominate up to four outstanding sophomore and junior students in the math,...

Read more

Chemical company exec to discuss sustainability in chemical, energy industries

Mar. 30, 2009—Dr. Jeffrey J. Siirola, Technology Fellow in the Eastman Research Division of Eastman Chemical Company in Kingsport, Tenn., will deliver the 2009 Tis Lahiri Memorial Seminar at Vanderbilt University. The seminar is sponsored by the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and will be held Monday, April 13, at 4:10 p.m. in Jacobs Believed in...

Read more

Ayo Ositelu named 2009 Young Alumni Trustee

Mar. 25, 2009—Senior Ayo Ositelu was recently named the 2009 Young Alumni Trustee on the Vanderbilt University Board of Trust. Ositelu is a biomedical engineering and mathematics double major from Indianapolis, Ind. A Chancellor Scholar, Ositelu also is president of the African Students Union, vice president of the Biomedical Engineering Society and Regional Academic Excellence Chair for...

Read more