Skip to main content

August, 2009

ISIS professors receive NSF Awards as a result of U.S. stimulus plan

Aug. 26, 2009—Two ISIS professors have received National Science Foundation awards in the area of intelligent learning environments and distributed real-time embedded systems. These awards are the result of stimulus funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. The two awards are: Formal Analysis of Choice-Adaptive Intelligent Learning Environments (FACILE) that support Future Learning Principle...

Read more

EECS chair receives IEEE Nuclear & Plasma Sciences Merit Award

Aug. 15, 2009—Daniel M. Fleetwood, chair of the electrical engineering and computer science department, has received the 2009 IEEE Nuclear & Plasma Sciences Society (NPSS) Merit Award, which recognizes an individual who has made outstanding technical contributions to the fields of nuclear and plasma sciences. Fleetwood accepted the award, which consists of $5,000, a plaque, and a certificate, at...

Read more

DoD funds to stimulate research go to VUSE professors

Aug. 14, 2009—The Department of Defense announced August 7 the awarding of 28 grants totaling $14.1 million as part of the fiscal 2009 Defense Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (DEPSCoR). The grants will enhance research and engineering capabilities at 20 academic institutions in 14 states in scientific disciplines critical to national security and the DoD. The...

Read more

Two Vanderbilt engineering professors receive NSF early career awards

Aug. 6, 2009—  Two assistant professors in the School of Engineering at Vanderbilt University have received prestigious National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program awards. Scott Guelcher, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, will use the NSF CAREER award to study bioactive weight-bearing bone/polymer composites, which are emerging biological products that have the potential...

Read more