Skip to main content

December, 2019

Anita Mahadevan-Jansen elected National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Dec. 3, 2019—Anita Mahadevan-Jansen, Orrin H. Ingram Professor of Engineering and director of the Vanderbilt Biophotonics Center, has been elected as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors. The NAI Fellows Selection Committee chose Mahadevan-Jansen, a professor of biomedical engineering, for demonstrating “a highly prolific spirit of...

Read more

Simaan honored as IEEE Fellow for robotics advancements

Dec. 2, 2019—Nabil Simaan, professor of mechanical engineering, has been elevated to IEEE Fellow by the Board of Directors of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The award – effective January 1, 2020 – recognizes Simaan for contributions to dexterous continuum robotics for surgery. Technologies developed by his group have advanced surgical robotics by enabling steerable...

Read more